MSU Named Michigan Association of Broadcasters Station of the Year

From left to right, Gretchen Nowroozi, Bob Gould, Antonio Corsi and Christine Kanerva represented the Michigan State University broadcast journalism award winners at the Michigan Association of Broadcasters awards ceremony.

Michigan State University's School of Journalism students have earned the prestigious Station of the Year award at the Michigan Association of Broadcasters 2019 Michigan Student Broadcast Awards.

Broadcast Professor of Practice Bob Gould said the Station of the Year honor reflects the growth of MSU's broadcast journalism program.

"This award is important because it shows the accomplishments and dedication of our students," Gould said. "We have come very close to winning this award the last couple of years, and finally winning this year is very exciting for our program."

In addition to Station of the Year, MSU students earned a number of other awards.

In the Current Events Program, Chloe Kiple won first place for her story called "This is Our Job."

Michael Epps and Griffin Stroin won second place for "It Hasn't Let Up."

Kendall Ashmann earned an Honorable Mention for "It's Not a Flashy Subject."

In the Digital Media Experience category, Christine Kanerva and Dana Kolker won a first-place award for "Taking the Spartan Newsroom Wherever You Go."

Ryan Cole won first place in the News Feature category for "A Senior Send-off."

Antonio Corsi earned first-place honors in the Public Service Announcement category for "Don't Text and Drive."

In the Sports Announcing Team category, Joe Freihofer and Ian Gilmour earned a first-place award for their show, "Joe Freihofer and Ian Gilmour."

In the Daily Newscast category, Tony Black, Griffin Stroin, Gretchen Nowroozi and Claire Post earned a second-place award.

In the Daily Sportscast category, Samantha Basirico won second-place honors, while Epps and Stroin earned an honorable mention.

In the Documentary category, Kendall Westfield, Olivia Hoover, Leo Samuels Vosburgh and Ashley Conklin earned an honorable mention for "Bags To Butterflies."

Stroin and Epps earned a second-place award in the Hard News category for "They're Working Hard To Fix the Problems."

Black and Stroin won an honorable mention in Hard News for "It's Gonna' End Up in the Courts and I Think They Will Lose."

The awards were presented at the March 6 Great Lakes Media Show in Lansing.

WKAR Named Station of the Year

MSU School of Journalism Rakes In Awards

MAB Awards Students for Focal Point, Spartan Sports Report and Impact Radio