Journalism Faculty Awards

Journalism Faculty Awards

Our faculty is the best of the best and has covered beats on local, national and world stages. Our faculty continues to garner national recognition as educators and as experienced, respected professionals in the industry.


  • Paul J. Deutschmann Award for Excellence in Research, AEJMC. Esther Thorson
  • Best of Festival Award, Faculty Sports Competition, Broadcast Education Association: A Meeting at HomeMike Castellucci 
  • Best of Festival Award, Student Interactive Multimedia Competition, Broadcast Education Association. Master’s Project: American Hurt: Vietnam Veteran Portraits & PerspectivesTara Mesyn 
  • Best of Competition, Feature News Reporting, Broadcast Education Association. Answer the Call. Mike Castellucci



  • National College Media Association Newspaper Advising Award, AEJMC. Carol Terracina Hartman


  • G.I.F.T. - Great Ideas for Teaching Students Award: “Grading the Audience: An Exercise to Engage Students During Oral Presentations.” Serena Carpenter
  • MiCC 2017 Innovations in Community Impact Award. Jeremy Steele & Crain Michigan State University Detroit High School Journalism program.  
  • Macomb Immigrant Service Center "E Pluribus Unum" Lifetime Achievement Award. Joe Grimm 
  • 2017 Outstanding Woman in Journalism and Mass Communication Education, Commission on the Status of Women, AEJMC. Lucinda Davenport
  • International Communication Teaching Award: Bias Busters guide on “100 Questions & Answers About Immigrants to the U.S.” Joe Grimm & Dawn Pysarchik
  • Dissertation Award, Mass Communication and Society: “Revisiting the Brazilian Paradox: Journalists’ Attitudes Toward Left and Right-Leaning Protests,” (also won at ICA). Rachel Mourao
  • Top Faculty Paper, Scholastic Journalism: “Students’ Experiences in an Environmental Journalism Master’s Program: An Application of Knowledge-Based Journalism Principles.” Bruno Takahashi & Perry Parks
  • 2017 Eleanor Blum Distinguished Service to Research Award, AEJMC. Esther Thorson 
  • Research Award & Grant, Mass Communication and Society: “Modeling community information needs, perceptions of crime, and attitudes toward the police.” Brendan Watson
  • Creative Competition, Visual Communication Division: “Faces of Flint” and “Hubert, His Story” both tied for first place. Geri Alumit Zeldes
  • Student Awards Program Gene Burd Dissertation Award for “From Mass to Elite Protests: How Journalists Covered the 2013 and 2015 Demonstrations in Brazil,” sponsored by the ICA Journalism Studies Division- Rachel Mourao.
  • Eleanor Blum Distinguished Service to Research Award - Esther Thorson
  • Faculty Impact Award- Joanne Gerstner
  • MSU Alumni Club of Mid-Michigan Quality in Undergraduate Teaching Award - Karl Gude
  • MSU Civic Engagement and Service Learning Award- Dave Poulson
  • Remmi award at the Worldfest Houston Independent Film Festival for Missing Moon Rocks - Troy Hale


  • MSU Undergrad Research Faculty Mentor of the Year – Howard Bossen
  • First place URAF in Digital Oral Presentation for Flint H20 – Maria Braganini and Kelley Waterfall
  • Emmy for Long form Non-Fiction 2016 College/University Student Production Awards for “Unchecking the Box” – Gabriela Saldivia


  • Creative Works Showcase Award from the Visual Communication Division of AEJMC – Howard Bossen
  • First Place, Best Research Poster, Participatory Journalism Interest Group (AEJMC) – Serena Carpenter
  • Neuroscience Fellow, Jacobs Foundation Zurich, Switzerland 2015-16 – Joanane Gerstner
  • Faculty Impact Award – Steve Lacy
  • Excellence in outreach and education, The International Association of Great Lakes Research – David Poulson
  • Creative Works Showcase Award, “The Living History Project: Stories Told by Michigan’s Oldest Old.”, Sponsored by the Visual Communication division, AEJMC Conference – Geri Zeldes
  • Teal Ribbon Award from MSU’s Counseling Center Sexual Assault Program for mentoring Every Two Minutes, a documentary film about sexual assault on university campuses – Geri Zeldes
  • Creative Works Showcase Award, Association for Education in Journalism & Mass Communication, “One Community, One Week, Many Faiths” – Eric Freedman & Howard Bossen
  • Creative Works Showcase Award, Association for Education in Journalism & Mass Communication, “The Living History Project”- Eric Freedman, Geri Zeldes
  • Best of Festival BEA award – Collin Krizmanich
  • MAB awards – First place – Max Gun, Daniel Hamburg, Aaron Jordan, Tyler Clifford
  • Sportswriter of the Year award – Joe Grimm


  • G.I.F.T – Great Ideas for Teaching Students Award. “Teaching visual communication by having students critically analyze their presentation of self.” National Communication Association – Serena Carpenter
  • Teach-A-Thon Award. “Transmedia storytelling.” The National Journalism Interactive conference held a competition on innovative teaching ideas that benefit journalism educators – Serena Carpenter
  • Top Panel, Curriculum, Assessment, & Administration division. Broadcast Education Association conference, Las Vegas, NV, 2014. –Serena Carpenter
  • 2014 Leadership Award. Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication AEJMC, International Communication Division – Manuel Chavez
  • High-Impact Scholar Award, School of Journalism, The University of Texas at Austin – Steve Lacy
  • Global Innovation Fellow, Michigan State University – David Poulson
  • Distinguished Poster Award. Symposium on Usable Privacy and Security – Rick Wash
  • U.S Government Special Award - Lead Artist, Latino Virtual Museum, Interactive Media Project, Smithsonian Latino Center – Stacey Fox
  • Muslim American Community Council “Truth in Media” award – Joe Grimm
  • Michigan State University Excellence in Diversity award – Joe Grimm
  • 2013-14 Service Award, Michigan State University Center for Service-Learning and Civic Engagement – Jeremy Steele
  • SPJ Excellence in Journalism award for New Special/Documentary, “U.S. v. Narciso Perez & the Press" – Geri Zeldes, Alyssa Firth
  • MAB first place award for Daily Newscast/Sportscast – Daniel Hamburg, Alex Barhorst, Greg Monahan


  • Deakin University Thinker-in-Residence, Burwood, Australia – Steve Lacy