MSU Broadcast Students Claim 35 Awards, Program of the Year

MSU School of Journalism students, including Chloe Kiple, left, won a combined 35 awards in the Michigan Association Broadcast Awards contest.

Michigan State University School of Journalism students dominated the Michigan Association of Broadcasters (MAB) Broadcast Excellence Awards. Students won 35 total awards for their work in Focal Point, Spartan Sports Report and Impact Radio, as well as documentary and broadcast classes.

MSU's win total was higher than any other program in Michigan, earning the distinction of Station/Program of the Year. The awards ceremony will be held March 6, at a lunch during the MAB Great Lakes Media Show.

Below are the award winners:

Television Current Event Program

First Place: This is our job, Chloe Kiple (JRN)

Second Place: It Hasn't Let Up, Griffin Stroin, Michael Epps (JRN)

Honorable Mention: It's Not A Flashy Subject, Kendall Ashmann (JRN)

Television Daily Newscast

Second Place: Focal Point News 10-26-18, Tony Black (JRN), Griffin Stroin (JRN), Gretchen Nowroozi (JRN), Claire Postelli (JRN)

Television Daily Sportscast

Second Place: Samantha Basirico Sportscast, Samantha Basirico (JRN)

Honorable Mention: Spartan Sports Report 12-4-18, Griffin Stroin (JRN), Michael Epps (JRN)

Television Digital Media Experience

First Place: Taking the Spartan Newsroom Wherever You Go, Christine Kanerva (JRN), Dana Kolker (JRN)

Television Documentary

Honorable Mention: Bags to Butterflies, Kendall Westfield, Olivia Hoover with journalism mentors

Television Hard News

Second Place: They're Working Hard To Fix The Problems, Griffin Stroin (JRN), Michael Epps (JRN).

Honorable Mention: Its gonna' end up in the courts and I think they will lose, Tony Black (JRN), Griffin Stroin (JRN)

Television News Feature

First Place: A Senior Send-off, Ryan Cole

Television Public Service Announcement

First Place: Don't Text and Drive, Antonio Corsi, from journalism classes

Television Sports Announcing Team

First Place: Joe Freihofer & Ian Gilmour, Joe Freihofer (JRN), Ian Gilmour (JRN)

Radio Daily Newscast/News Feature

First Place: Nassar Scandal, Sami Luke with journalism mentors

Radio Digital Media Experience

Second Place: Impact 89FM Digital Media 2018, Andrew Herner, Ean Montague, Maeve O'Dowd, Stephanie Stapert

On-Air Personality or Team

Honorable Mention: Green and White Report - Find Julian a New NFL Team, Ryan Rabinowitz, Julian Mitchell (JRN), Ryan Collins (JRN)

Radio Sports Announcing Team

Second Place: Michigan State vs. Tennessee Tech - Men's Basketball, Ryan Cole, Kyle Turk (JRN)

Radio Talk Show

Second Place: Sunshine, Sophie Sagan, Cole Tunningley