Hale, Several ComArtSci Alumni, and WKAR Honored with Michigan Emmy Wins

Since this story was published, several of the individuals mentioned in this article went onto receive Michigan Emmys. The list of ComArtSci winners includes Troy Hale winning two Emmys in the Youth News and Program Host categories, Carol Yancho and Drew Hill of WKAR winning Emmys in the Public Service Announcement, Long Form Content and Lighting categories, ComArtSci Alumnus, Benjamin Owen, winning in the Sports Documentary category, and ComArtSci Alumnus and MSU Brand Strategy member, Anthony Siciliano, winning in the Technical Achievement category. For a complete list of winners please visit https://natasmichigan.org.

J-School Professor Troy Hale has been nominated for not one but two Michigan Emmys this year. 

The first nomination, in the Education/Schools category, is for Hale’s work on his video series: “Professor on the Road.” This series documents Hale’s unconventional method of instruction while he taught MSU courses from a camper as he traveled across the country during the spring semester. "Professor on the Road" also earned Hale a nomination in the Talent – Performer/Narrator category.

In addition to Hale, several ComArtSci Alumni received Michigan Emmy nominations this year as well as 8 nominations for work put together by WKAR. These include one nomination for School of Journalism Alumna, Jessica Dupnack, for her coverage of Black Lives Matter Protests; two nominations for School of Journalism Alumna, Kristen Lowe, for her coverage of the 2020 Election and Sports Betting coming to Michigan; and two nominations for Media and Information Alumnus, Benjamin Owen, for his video work for Spartans All Access.

The Michigan Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is the organization responsible for bestowing the prestigious regional Emmy Awards each year. NATAS is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and related media, and to the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. 

Hale is no stranger to awards and accolades for his work. Over the course of his career, Hale has won 26 Emmys and has been nominated for over 60. Hale has also picked up an Edward R. Murrow award, a CINE Golden Eagle, an Addy, 11 Tellys, 2 Associated Press awards, 3 National and 10 regional NPPA awards, and many other film and television awards.

The Michigan Emmy awards are being streamed live on Saturday, June 19 at 7 PM

By: Joe Strother

More from the J-School

Explore the New Digital Storytelling Major