2023 ComArtSci EMMY Awards Roundup

Spartans won big earlier this month at the 45th annual Michigan Regional EMMY® Awards. The Michigan Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) presented Michigan State University awards or nominations across 19 categories. ComArtSci Spartans won awards along with members of WKAR and Michigan State University Athletics, among other talented MSU groups.  

In case you missed it, here’s a recap of the EMMY® nominees and award recipients from our very own Communication Arts and Sciences community.


An Evening with Rep. James Clyburn

EMMY® nomination: Interview/Discussion

Timothy Elkins, Producer/Director


EMMY®: Performer/Narrator
EMMY® nomination: Technology

Troy Hale

Century of Service – Sizzle Reel

EMMY® nomination: Image Promotion (Single Spot)

Carol Yancho, Senior Producer
Dan Wogan, Editor

Curious About Careers – Construction Industry Consultant

EMMY® nomination: Children/Youth/Teen — News

Carol Yancho, Senior Producer

Curious Crew – Balance and Stability

EMMY® nomination: Children/Youth/Teen — Long Form

Carol Yancho, Senior Producer
Rob Stephenson, Host/Writer

Curious Crew – Compilation

EMMY® nomination: Editor — Long Form Content

Scott Schoessel, Editor

Curious Crew – Composite

EMMY®: Program Host/Moderator/Correspondent

Rob Stephenson, Host/Writer

Curious Crew Graphics Composite

EMMY® nomination: Graphic Arts – Motion Graphics

Dan Wogan, Editor

Mady Sissoko | Spartans All-Access | Men's Basketball

EMMY® nomination: Sports Story — Short Form Content

Terrace Myles

Music for Social Justice

EMMY® nomination: Lighting

Ken Merley, Lighting Designer

Music for Social Justice – Freedom

EMMY® nomination: Arts/Entertainment

Steven Boughton

OTR: Evening With the Governor

EMMY®: Politics/Government

Tim Skubick, Producer/Host/Moderator
Timothy Elkins, Director

Serving Up Science

EMMY®: Lifestyle

Nicole Zaremba, Producer/Director
Sheril Kirshenbaum, Host

Shining Lights

EMMY®: Multimedia Journalist

Mike Castellucci, Producer

Sights and Sounds: Spartan Marching Band

EMMY® nomination: Arts and Entertainment

Anthony Siciliano
Nick Schrader
Jacob Templin-Fulton
Kevin Epling
Derrick Turner

Spartans All-Access

EMMY® nomination: Sports Program — Post-Produced or Edited

Michigan State University Athletics
Benjamin Owen

Spartans All-Access: Title IX Celebration

EMMY® nomination: Historical/Cultural

Jacob Huber

Twice as Likely

EMMY®: Societal Concerns

Nicole Zaremba, Producer/Director

What is an Isotope?

EMMY®: Environment/Science

Nick Schrader
Anthony Siciliano
Jacob Templin-Fulton
Matt Davenport

Will Perkins | Spartans All-Access | Men's Soccer

Emmy nomination: Human Interest – Short Form Content

Terrace Myles


Congratulations, Spartans!


By Matt Dwyer