Dean Search

Michigan State University is conducting a search for its next Dean of the College of Communication Arts and Sciences.

Updates throughout the process will be provided on this webpage. The WittKieffer consulting firm will facilitate the search process. If you have nominations for qualified applicants, please send them to the consulting firm.

Dean Position Overview

Michigan State University’s College of Communication Arts and Sciences, established in 1955, was the first such college in the country. Today, with more than 3,500 students and more than 56,000 alumni, it's one of the largest and most respected. With nationally ranked programs and internationally renowned faculty members, MSU ComArtSci prepares students for careers across a broad spectrum of the arts and sciences of communication. 

The college is home to four departments – Advertising and Public Relations, Communication, Communicative Sciences and Disorders and Media and Information, in addition to the School of Journalism, and WKAR-AM/FM/TV. Reporting to the Provost, the Dean serves as the leader for the degree granting college at MSU.

Position Profile (PDF)

Position posting and details

Search Timeline

  • January 30, 2023 – Search committee seated
  • February - April 2023 – Listening sessions with constituency groups
  • July - August 2023 – Position posted and advertised
  • Fall Semester 2023 – Candidate Review and Interviews
  • December 2023 – Candidate selection

Search Committee

Bruno Takahashi
Brandt Endowed Professor of Environmental Communication, School of Journalism

Kendra Cheruvelil
Dean, Lyman Briggs College

Fashina Aladé
Assistant Professor, Department of Advertising and Public Relations

Kevin Cooney
Director of Annual Giving, WKAR

Ricardo Guimaraes
Professor of Practice, Department of Media and Information

Teresia Hagelberger
Director of Human Resources

Meredith Jagutis
Senior Director of Development

Maria Lapinski
Director of the Michigan State University Health and Risk Communication Center, Department of Communication

Kari Lopez
Interim Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Education

Lauren McKenzie
Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Brian O'Connor
ComArtSci Alumni Representative

Bobbie Rathjens
Ph.D. student, Department of Communication

Manu Sastry
Communication Leadership and Strategy student, Department of Communication

Alexandrea Stanley
Instructor, Department of Advertising and Public Relations

Monique Turner
Chairperson, Department of Communication

Courtney Venker
Assistant Professor, Department of Communicative Sciences and Disorders

Susan Wyche
Associate Professor, Department of Media and Information


Questions about the College of Communication Arts and Sciences Dean Search can be directed to the search firm, WittKieffer.